Those of you who read this blog know I try to post any suspicious emails I see online for the benefit of the community. I’ve been recieving emails lately - which correspond quite well with actual purchases for the holidays - that purport to be from UPS. The body of the email goes something like this:
Unfortunately we were not able to deliver postal package you sent on Oct the 28 in time because the recipient’s address is not correct. Please print out the invoice copy attached and collect the package at our office Your UPS
The sender’s domain name is bostonequipment.com, which is a legit domain name, but unlikely to be the sender’s real domain.
The “invoice” in question is, of course, a zip file. People: never, never, never open a zip file from someone you didn’t know was going to be sending you one. This includes friends and relatives. You never know when one of these dastardly little bastards is a virus, and what you think is an email sent by a friend may actually be virus activity your friend knows nothing about.
January 11, 2008, 1:57 pm Use FireFoxIf you need still further evidence that Internet Explorer is a losing bet - if better standards compliance, superior plugins, great skins and overall better performance don’t sway you - check out The Beeb’s latest article on yet another Windows virus propagated through IE on malware sites.
G-20 Summit May Test American Dominance in Economics || CNN Money
Jobless Rate Soars as Economy Continues to Stumble || Wall Street Journal
Dems, Obama Trying to Tie Restrictions to Detroit Bailout || Wall Street JournalBad Behavior has blocked 12259 access attempts in the last 7 days.